WAKE FOREST UNIVERSITY February 20, 2020, 4 p. m., Wait Chapel



FOUNDERS' DAY CONVOCATION





FOUNDERS' DAY CONVOCATION

Commemoration of the 186th Year

PRELUDE:

"Prelude, Fugue and Chaconne in C Major" Dietrich Buxtehude Donald L. Armitage, University Organist
PROCESSIONAL:
Trumpet Tune in D Major
INVOCATION The Reverend Timothy L. Auman
University Chaplain
REMARKS
MUSIC
"Amazing Grace" Translated into Siouan Indigenous Language Mahlea C. Hunt ('23)
INTRODUCTION OF SENIOR ORATION Thomas O. Phillips
Associate Dean and Director of the Wake Forest Scholars Program
SENIOR ORATION Celia Zhou ('20)
Living and Loving the Question
INTRODUCTION OF KEYNOTE SPEAKER Mellie Mesfin ('20)
Student Government President
KEYNOTE ADDRESS
Dean, School of Divinity
Dean, School of Divinity PRESENTATION OF THE
Dean, School of Divinity
Dean, School of Divinity PRESENTATION OF THE MEDALLION OF MERIT
Dean, School of Divinity PRESENTATION OF THE MEDALLION OF MERIT President Hatch SPIRITUAL
Dean, School of Divinity PRESENTATION OF THE MEDALLION OF MERIT President Hatch SPIRITUAL "Hold On" Traditional Spiritual
Dean, School of Divinity PRESENTATION OF THE MEDALLION OF MERIT
Dean, School of Divinity PRESENTATION OF THE MEDALLION OF MERIT
Dean, School of Divinity PRESENTATION OF THE MEDALLION OF MERIT
Dean, School of Divinity PRESENTATION OF THE MEDALLION OF MERIT
Dean, School of Divinity PRESENTATION OF THE MEDALLION OF MERIT
Dean, School of Divinity PRESENTATION OF THE MEDALLION OF MERIT
PRESENTATION OF THE MEDALLION OF MERIT
PRESENTATION OF THE MEDALLION OF MERIT
PRESENTATION OF THE MEDALLION OF MERIT
PRESENTATION OF THE MEDALLION OF MERIT
PRESENTATION OF THE MEDALLION OF MERIT

community and guests in the Green Room, Reynolda Hall.



THE MEDALLION OF MERIT

The Medallion of Merit is the highest honor given by Wake Forest and is presented annually for outstanding achievement and distinguished contribution to the University.

Recipients include presidents of the University, trustees, benefactors, and retired faculty and administrators.

- 2020 Winston Louis Bissette Jr. ('65), Trustee and Benefactor Lawrence "Larry" D. Hopkins ('72, MD '77), Assistant Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center, and Trustee
- Sandra Boyette (MBA '95), Senior University Leadership, 1987-2016
 Charles P. Rose Jr., Professor, School of Law, 1973-2018
- 2018 Michael "Mike" Gerald Ford ('72), Senior Leadership, Campus Life, 1981-2017
- 2017 James Pierce Barefield, Professor of History, 1964-2004 Herman Edward Eure (Ph.D. '74), Professor of Biology, 1974-2013
- Jenny Robinson Puckett ('71), Adjunct Faculty, 1995-2013
 James T. Williams Jr. ('62, JD '66), Chair, Board of Trustees, and Benefactor
- Louis C. Argenta, Professor and Former Chair,
 Department of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, Wake
 Forest University Baptist Medical Center, 1988-present
 Michael J. Morykwas, Professor and Director of Research,
 Department of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, Wake
 Forest University Baptist Medical Center, 1988-present
- 2014 Margaret "Peggy" Supplee Smith, Harold W. Tribble Professor of Art, 1979-2011
- 2013 Rhoda B. Billings (JD '66), Professor of Law, 1973-2003; Chief Justice, North Carolina Supreme Court
- 2012 L. Glenn Orr Jr., Chair, Board of Trustees, and Benefactor
- 2011 K. Wayne Smith ('60), Chair, Board of Trustees, and Benefactor
- 2010 Barbara Babcock Millhouse, Founding President, Reynolda House Museum of American Art
- 2009 Richard H. Dean, First President, Wake Forest
 University Health Sciences
 Marvin D. Gentry ('57), First Chair, Wake Forest
 University Health Sciences Board of Directors
- 2008 Murray C. Greason Jr. ('59, JD '62), Chair, Board of Trustees, and Benefactor
- 2007 Edgar D. Christman ('50, JD '53), *University Chaplain*, 1969-2003
- Thomas K. Hearn Jr., 12th President, 1983-2005T. Eugene Worrell ('40), Trustee and Benefactor
- Timothy Pennell ('55, MD '60), Professor of Surgery, School of Medicine, 1966-2002
 Willis E. "Doc" Murphrey ('52, JD '57), Old Campus Personality
- 2004 Edwin G. Wilson ('43), Provost Emeritus and Professor of English, 1951-2002

2003	B Leon H. Corbett Jr. ('59, JD '61), Vice President and Counsel, 1968-2002
2002	C. Douglas Maynard ('55, MD '59), Chair, Department of Radiology, School of Medicine, 1966-2003
200	Victor I. Flow Jr. ('52), Trustee and Benefactor
2000	Richard Janeway, Executive Vice President for Health Affairs, 1966-1997
1999	Mary Ann Taylor ('56, MD '60), Director, Student Health Service, 1961-1991
1998	Henry S. Stroupe ('35, MA '37), Dean of the Graduate School and Professor of History, 1937-1984
1997	7 Ivey C. Gentry ('40), Professor of Mathematics, 1949- 1989
1996	Lula M. "Lu" Leake, Associate Vice President and Dean of Women, 1964-1997
	Mark H. Reece ('49), Dean of Students and Dean of Men, 1956-1988
1995	Thomas E. Mullen, Dean of the College and Professor of History, 1957-2000
1994	Germaine Bree, Kenan Professor of Humanities, 1973-1985
1993	Eugene Hooks ('50), Director of Athletics, 1956-1992
1992	2 Elizabeth Phillips, <i>Professor of English</i> , 1957-1989
199	Weston P. Hatfield ('41), Chair, Board of Trustees
1990	Eben Alexander, Professor of Neurosurgery, School of Medicine, 1949-2004
1989	Harold M. Barrow, Chair, Department of Physical Education, 1948-1977
1988	Richard T. Myers, Chair, Department of Surgery, School of Medicine, 1950-2000
1987	Russell H. Brantley Jr. ('45), Director of Communications, 1953-1987
1986	D. Wayne Calloway ('59), Chair, Board of Trustees
1985	Robert A. Dyer, Professor of Religion, 1956-1983
1984	James Ralph Scales, 11th President, 1967-1983
	Harold W. Tribble, 10th President, 1950-1967
1983	Manson Meads, Vice President for Health Affairs, 1947-2001
1982	D.A. Brown, Professor of English, 1941-1973
198	Owen F. Herring (1913, MA 1914), <i>Professor of Religion</i> , 1946-1963
1980	Nancy Susan Reynolds, Benefactor
	James W. Mason (JD '38), Chair, Board of Trustees
1979	Grady S. Patterson ('24), Registrar, 1924-1972
	A.C. Reid Professor of Philosophy 1920-1965

1978	Melvin Q. Layton ('47), Superintendent of Grounds, 1951-1977
	Clark Vincent, Professor of Medical Sociology, School of Medicine, 1964-1978
1977	Carroll W. Weathers ('22, JD '23), Dean and Professor of Law, 1950-1972
1976	Egbert L. Davis Jr. ('33), Chair, Board of Trustees
	Charles M. Allen ('39, MA '41), Professor of Biology, 1941-1989
1975	H. Broadus Jones (1910), Professor of English, 1924-1959
1974	Edgar Estes Folk (1921), Professor of English, 1936-1967
1973	Lois Johnson, Dean of Women, 1942-1962
	Jasper L. Memory (1921), <i>Professor of Education</i> , 1929-1971
1972	J. Allen Easley ('43), Professor of Religion, 1938-1963
1971	Clara Carswell, Benefactor
1970	Harold T. P. Hayes ('48), Editor, Esquire magazine
1969	Irving Carlyle, Chair, Board of Trustees
1968	Camillo Artom, <i>Professor of Biochemistry, School of Medicine</i> , 1939-1961

Dates following title indicate total years of service to Wake Forest

