Call to Order – 4:00p

1. Approval of September 2024 meeting minutes

- 2. Announcements
- Senate: attention is to faculty and academic excellence
- Senate: cornerstone of shared governance representing faculty across the University
- Welcome to Angie Edwards, Anesthesiology, as Member-At-Large
- Amanda Kaufman is serving on the search committee for the new Dean of ZSR Library
- Reynolda Hall: new guest services station and DeaconOne card access
- Campus Climate Evaluation first round of discussions
  - Oct 30: for students, 5:30-7:30, Benson 401
  - Oct 31: for faculty and staff, 3:00-5:00, Benson 401
  - Nov 1: for faculty and students, 10:0-12:00, Benson 401
- 3. Old business
- Website updates: bylaws and photos forthcoming
- P&T in Medical School
- Potential issues needing planned messaging
  - possible R1 transition
  - SACSOC/QEP
  - initiating Capital Campaign

## 4. Current business

\*\* Special Presentation: timing of this is contingent throughout the meeting due to scheduling conflicts. Provost Gillespie – discussion of Academic Freedom and Responsibility

- Review of Peer Institution list need volunteers
- Connections with Senates at NC Universities most affected by Hurricane Helene
- report outs from those serving as representatives on various University committees
- US News Rankings
  - All Universities: https://www.usnews.com/best-colleges/rankings/national-universities
  - WFU 46/436 and #35 "Best Value": https://www.usnews.com/best-colleges/wake-forest-2978
- Senate President and Executive Committee Report:
  - review of meetings on 09/27, 09/30, 10/03 (x2), 10/04, 10/08, 10/09, and 10/17
- Standing Committee Reports
- 5. New Business
- Adjourn by 5:30p

## End notes

Executive Committee Membership:

- Saylor Breckenridge (College/Sociology) President
- Steve Virgil (Law) Vice President
- Ryan Shirey (College/English/Writing Program) Secretary
- Angie Edwards (Medicine) Member-at-large
- Raja Chatterjee (Medicine) Past President
- Mike Cartwright (Medicine) Chair, Medical School Senators
- Amanda Kaufman (Library) Chair, University Integration
- Ellen Kirkman (College/Mathematics) Chair, Fringe Benefits
- Sarah Morath (Law) Chair, Committee on Academic Freedom and Responsibility (CAFR)
- Jason Parsley (College/Mathematics) Chair, College Senators
- Lauren Reid (Business) Chair, Capital Planning
- Katherine Shaner (Divinity) Chair, Salaries
- Michelle Steward (Business) Chair, Ad Hoc Committee on the Faculty Handbook
- John Sumanth (Business) Chair, Athletics