Call to Order - 4:00p

1. Approval of August 2024 meeting minutes.

2. Announcements

- Senatorial Election: The School of Medicine is in the process of electing two new Senators
- Executive Committee Election: Member-At-Large nominations (including self-nominations) to Michelle Steward (stewarmd@wfu.edu) by Fri 09/15 at noon, then follow-up messaging, ballot construction, and an electronic vote in the following week. Executive Committee meets 3p-5p on the second Weds of the month, plus additional ad hoc meetings, to set agendas, organize committees, and meet with President, Provost, and other Cabinet and university community members.
- Search initiated: new Dean of ZSR Library to start Fall 2025.

2. Old business

- Website updates: bylaws updates and photos forthcoming
- Policy on Campaign and Political Activity: reminder
- Peer institutions review: pending, move into current business ASAP. Seeking volunteers to lead the ad hoc committee.

3. Current business

- Ongoing or completed policy and related activity with Senate involvement
 - Major Gift Receipts and Policy: upcoming changes
 - Policy on Policies: upcoming changes
 - Campus Demonstration Policy: upcoming changes
 - Freedom of Expression and Academic Freedom: updates on documents
- Senate Executive Committee After Action Review ("AAR of the AAR") Amanda Kaufman, Chair
- Standing Committee Reports
 - Salaries: Katherine Shaner, Chair
 - Medical School Senators: Michael Cartwright, Chair
 - Integration: Amanda Kaufman, Chair
 - Fringe Benefits: Ellen Kirkman, Chair
 - College Senators: Jason Parsley, Chair
 - Athletics: John Sumanth, Chair
 - Academic Freedom and Responsibility (CAFR): Sarah Morath, Chair
 - Capital Planning: J.K. Curry, Chair Pro-Tem
 - Announcement of <u>The Grounds</u>
 - Announcement of college moves to Alumni Hall: Computer Science, Philosophy, Education, Entrepreneurship
- Preparing for USNews college rankings: planned to be released on September 24

4. New Business

- Adjourn – by 5:30p

Included links:

Search for new Dean of ZSR Library: https://wittkieffer.com/positions/200262

Campaign policy information: https://inside.wfu.edu/2024/08/policy-provides-guidance-on-university-resources-and-political-activity/

Demonstrations, Chalking, and Posting Policy: https://policy.wfu.edu/demonstrations-chalking-and-posting-policy/

Freedom of Expression and Academic Freedom: https://freeexpression.wfu.edu/

The Grounds: https://www.visitthegrounds.com/news/carter-and-front-street-capital-announce-the-grounds

End notes

Executive Committee Membership:

- Saylor Breckenridge (College/Sociology) President
- Steve Virgil (Law) Vice President
- Ryan Shirey (College/English/Writing Program) Secretary
- Erik Summers (Medicine) Member-at-large
- Raja Chatterjee (Medicine) Past President
- Amanda Kaufman (ZSR Library) Chair, University Integration
- Ellen Kirkman (College/Mathematics) Chair, Fringe Benefits
- Sarah Morath (Law) Chair, Committee on Academic Freedom and Responsibility (CAFR)
- Jason Parsley (College/Mathematics) Chair, College Senators
- Lauren Reid (Business) Chair, Capital Planning
- Katherine Shaner (Divinity) Chair, Salaries
- Michelle Steward (Business) Chair, Ad Hoc Committee on the Faculty Handbook
- John Sumanth (Business) Chair, Athletics

Current Elected Senators:

CollegeLawDivinityEmily AustinChris KnottKatherine ShanerSaylor BreckenridgeSarah MorathJ.K. CurrySteve VirgilZSRCatherine HarnoisStephanie Bennett

Simeon Ilesanmi
A. Daniel Johnson
Charles (Hank) Kennedy
Ellen Kirkman

Stephanie Bennett
Amanda Kaufman
Amanda Kaufman

Mark Johnson

Medicine
Lauren Reid
Michael Cartwright

Nina Lucas Michelle Steward Arjun (Raja) Chatterjee
Ellen Miller John Sumanth Angela Edwards
Ananda Mitra Julie Wayne Adrian Laxton
Jason Parsley Bret Nicks

John Pickel Graduate Schools
Rais Rahman Kerry Danelson Erik Summers
Ryan Shirey Melissa Jenkins

Current Ex Officio Senators:

Susan Wente – President, Wake Forest University

Michele Gillespie – Provost

Jackie Krasas – Dean, College

Jackie Travisano - Executive Vice President and Chief Financial

Officer

Tim Pyatt – Dean, School of Business

Floaty Roulyara – Dean, School of Medicine

Corry D.R. Walker – Dean, School of Divinity

Ebony Boulware – Dean, School of Medicine

Corey D.B. Walker – Dean, School of Divinity
Charles Iacovou – Dean, School of Professional Studies

David Clingenpeel – Staff Advisory Council